top of page

Tung Meng Hui and Kuomintang

Updated: Apr 12

Tun Meng Hui timeline:

  • 1904: Sun Yat-sen founded the Tongmenghui (Tung Meng Hui) in Tokyo, Japan, with the aim of uniting revolutionary groups and overthrowing the Qing dynasty.

  • 1905: The Tongmenghui established branches in various parts of China, including Guangzhou, Shanghai, and Beijing.

  • 1906: The Tongmenghui launched an unsuccessful uprising in Guangzhou, known as the Huizhou Uprising.

  • 1907: The Tongmenghui became more organized and began to gain support from overseas Chinese communities.

  • 1908: The Tongmenghui formed an alliance with the Guangfuhui (Restoration Society) to overthrow the Qing dynasty.

  • 1911: The Tongmenghui played a crucial role in the Wuchang Uprising, which marked the beginning of the Xinhai Revolution. After the uprising, the Tongmenghui became the leading revolutionary group in China.

  • 1912: Sun Yat-sen was elected as the first provisional president of the Republic of China, with the support of the Tongmenghui.

  • 1913: The Tongmenghui suffered a major setback when Yuan Shikai, a former imperial general, seized power and dissolved the National Assembly. Sun Yat-sen started the Second Chinese Revolution and went into exile in Japan. Yuan Shikai became the President of the Republic of China.

Kuomintang timeline:

  • 1912: The Kuomintang (KMT), also known as the Nationalist Party, was founded by Sun Yat-sen after the establishment of the Republic of China.

  • 1913-1916: The KMT faced internal conflicts and was weakened by the opposition of Yuan Shikai.

  • 1917: Sun Yat-sen reorganized the KMT to include members of different social classes and political factions, and it became the dominant political party in China.

  • 1924: The KMT launched the Northern Expedition, a military campaign to reunify China under its leadership, with the support of the Communist Party of China. Dr Sun Yat-sen died in 1925.

  • 1927: The KMT-Communist alliance broke down, and Chiang Kai-shek, who became the leader of the KMT after Sun Yat-sen's death, launched a campaign to eliminate communists and other leftists in the party.

  • 1928: Chiang Kai-shek established the National Government in Nanjing and became the president of the Republic of China.

  • 1930s: The KMT faced challenges from various sources, including warlords, Japanese aggression, and communist insurgency.

  • 1945: The KMT emerged as one of the victors in World War II, but its power and authority were challenged by the Communist Party of China.

  • 1947: The KMT government under Chiang Kai-shek launched a campaign of suppression and violence against perceived communist sympathizers and opponents, known as the White Terror.

  • 1949: The KMT government was defeated by the Communist Party of China in the Chinese Civil War, and Chiang Kai-shek fled to Taiwan with his government.

  • 1950s-1980s: The KMT ruled Taiwan under martial law, suppressing political opposition and promoting economic development.

  • 1987: The KMT government lifted martial law and allowed opposition parties to form.

  • 2000: The KMT lost power in Taiwan for the first time in its history when Chen Shui-bian of the Democratic Progressive Party was elected president.

  • 2008: The KMT returned to power with the election of Ma Ying-jeou as president of Taiwan.

  • 2016: The KMT lost power again when Tsai Ing-wen of the Democratic Progressive Party was elected president of Taiwan.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page